Page Feedback

Willard’s Trunk at Arrow Rock State Historic Site Museum

Willard’s Trunk at Arrow Rock State Historic Site Museum


Museum hours: June 1 - August 31 10 am to 5 pm. 10 am to 4 pm all other months.
lat: 39.0685825 long: -92.9457706

This wooden trunk with the initials A.W. is believed to be that of Alexander Willard, one of the blacksmiths and gunsmiths of the Corps of Discovery.  It’s within the collection of the Arrow Rock State Historic Site museum, in Arrow Rock, Missouri.

According to the Historic Site, Willard family tradition says he made the trunk shortly before joining the U.S. Army in 1800.  However, it’s not known if it made the journey to the Pacific and back.  The trunk was purchased from Willard’s great-great-great grandson in June 2011.

Arrow Rock State Historic Site, a National Historic Landmark, gives you the opportunity to stroll through the history of a once-bustling river town that is now the serene village of Arrow Rock.  The historic site is part of the larger town, which features quaint stores and antique shops.  Located in north-central Missouri, along the Missouri River, you’ll find a visitor center and museum, the Bingham Home, Huston Tavern, old courthouse, doctor’s home, stone jail, and other historic buildings.  The park also offers camping facilities and hiking trails.

The historic site and village are about 45 miles west of Columbia, Missouri.  To learn more, visit the Arrow Rock State Historic Site Visitor Center.

Nearby Attractions

Distance Unit:

Nearby Trails

Distance Unit:

Klondike Park River Access

lat: 38.5840552 long: -90.8200764
Noren Access Path

lat: 38.5894 long: -92.17918
Taylors Landing

A boat ramp to the beautiful Missouri River with a peaceful view of the river.

lat: 38.94831 long: -92.53559
Fort Bellefontaine

lat: 38.827083 long: -90.214293
Klondike to Mississippi River

lat: 38.58395 long: -90.81858
Tower Rock

lat: 37.63554 long: -89.51586
New Haven Public Access

lat: 38.61434 long: -91.21069
The Gateway Arch

lat: 38.6254157 long: -90.1881888
Fort Osage Historic Park

lat: 39.1864762 long: -94.1928602
Trail of Tears Nature Trail

 Here, nine Cherokee Indian groups braved harsh winter conditions while crossing the Mississippi River in 1838-1839, marking a sorrowful chapter in American history. The park also has: shaded picnic sites, hiking and horse trails, opportunities to fish…

lat: 37.4388916 long: -89.480974
LaBenite Park to Miami

lat: 39.16744 long: -94.39343
Miami to Big Muddy

lat: 39.32615 long: -93.22803
Send Feedback

Instagram Feed