Page Feedback

Guibourd-Valle House

Guibourd-Valle House

Information

Guided tours are available: Mon - Thurs 12:15 Fri - Sun Noon - 5 pm
573-883-7544
$8 adults/$5 kids (K-12)
No pets allowed
lat: 37.979465740847 long: -90.047844661377

An outstanding example of poteaux-sur-sole, vertical log architecture is the Guibourd-Valle House. Built in 1806 for Jacques Jean Rene Dubreuil Guibourd de Luzinais, an immigrant from France and San Dominque, the house provides a glimpse into life in Missouri between the times of the Louisiana Purchase and statehood in 1821.

Guibourd came to Ste. Genevieve from France by way of San Domingue (now called Haiti). During a slave rebellion, Jacques Guibourd was smuggled out of the country in a barrel by his slave, Moros, according to family legend. He and Moros made their way back to France, but seeing the chaos and destruction there during the French Revolution, Guibourd and Moros headed to the New World.  They had heard of a population of French-speaking settlers in the middle of America.  They arrived in Ste. Genevieve in the late 1790s.

An outstanding feature of the Guibourd House is the roof framing configuration of vertical and horizontal beams known as a Norman Truss system. The building’s trusses are original and are some of the finest examples of such framing in the United States. Moreover, visitors can visit the attic of this house and view the actual framing.  The tops of each of the vertical log exterior walls are also visible, each secured to a top plate with a wooden peg.

The house was originally surrounded by galleries on all sides, but this was changed with a later update to the house. A brick indoor kitchen and flat gabling of the north and south ends of the house around the same time resulted in the current configuration. The house consists of three rooms and a central hallway. Ceiling joists are exposed in all rooms, and they feature edge beading, an extra embellishment in a mid-Mississippi French colonial home. The house remained in the Guibourd family until 1907.

A later owner Anne Marie Valle became a world traveler and collector of Louis XV and Louis XVI furniture and accessories. When Anne Marie died in 1971, her will requested that the house be maintained as a memorial to her husband and Jacques Guibourd. The Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve acquired the house and its furnishings in 1973.

In Ste. Genevieve, over 30 vertical log structures built between 1790 and the 1820s have survived.  Most are private residences, but the Guibourd-Valle House is open for tours.

Nearby Attractions

Distance Unit:

Nearby Trails

Distance Unit:

Tower Rock

lat: 37.63554 long: -89.51586
Fort Bellefontaine

lat: 38.827083 long: -90.214293
Trail of Tears Access

A boat ramp that allows visitors to access the Trail of Tears

lat: 37.4539977 long: -89.4625079
Red House Path

lat: 37.3008461 long: -89.5186713
Front Loop

lat: 38.82679 long: -90.21614
Katy Trail Trailhead

lat: 38.9776 long: -92.56147
The Gateway Arch

lat: 38.6254157 long: -90.1881888
Miami to Big Muddy

lat: 39.32615 long: -93.22803
Arrow Rock

lat: 39.0685825 long: -92.9457706
New Haven Public Access

lat: 38.61434 long: -91.21069
Lewis and Clark Nature Trail

lat: 38.77314 long: -90.4821
Klondike Park River Access

lat: 38.5840552 long: -90.8200764
Send Feedback

Instagram Feed