Page Feedback

Hill of Peace

Hill of Peace

Information

By Appointment
573-547-6363 or 573-768-1240.
Donations Appreciated
lat: 37.7018469 long: -89.7955161

In 1844 the congregation of German families organized as Peace Evangelical Lutheran Church. In 1846 the small group built a log cabin church on the north side of Cinque Homme Creek.  As you drive by today, you can see a peaceful valley of crops with a large metal building with a green roof in the distance.  You can just imagine, 170 years ago a log cabin church sitting on the bank of Cinque Hommes Creek somewhere on the far edge of that field.

Soon it was necessary to build a larger log cabin church and in 1852 they moved to the Frankenberg Hill, building a parsonage and a school across the road. Peace Lutheran Cemetery is still located at this site and is maintained by an endowment to Immanuel Lutheran Church of Perryville, Missouri.

In 1885, the congregation moved from the Frankenberg Hill, to Friedenberg and built the present simple, red-brick worship facility overlooking the quiet Missouri countryside.  The new church was dedicated debt-free on 27 September 1885.  This church served the congregation for the next 95 years!

Additionally, school was taught in this red brick school house across the street from the church for over 70 years until 1946.  After 1946, the school was used for Saturday school where religion was taught, for dart games and Sunday School.  The names and initials of school children can still be seen etched into the soft brick.

When Peace Congregation voted to disband in 1980, they asked Concordia Historical Institute to take over the property in order to preserve their buildings as a reminder of the heritage of the Lutheran Church. The Institute continues to own, operate and support “Hill of Peace” as a “walk-in history book” that vividly demonstrates the change in the life of the rural church that was so important in previous eras.

The facilities, the people, and the “peace” still live on in Friedenberg through the continued efforts of the Friedenberg Historical Society 501(c)(3).  The small group of members continue to maintain the church and grounds for generations to enjoy for years to come.

Nearby Attractions

Distance Unit:

Nearby Trails

Distance Unit:

Lewis and Clark Memorial

lat: 38.57843 long: -92.1714
Miami to Big Muddy

lat: 39.32615 long: -93.22803
Francis Quadrangle

lat: 38.94607 long: -92.32836
New Haven Public Access

lat: 38.61434 long: -91.21069
Trail of Tears Nature Trail

 Here, nine Cherokee Indian groups braved harsh winter conditions while crossing the Mississippi River in 1838-1839, marking a sorrowful chapter in American history. The park also has: shaded picnic sites, hiking and horse trails, opportunities to fish…

lat: 37.4388916 long: -89.480974
LaBenite Park to Miami

lat: 39.16744 long: -94.39343
Fort Bellefontaine

lat: 38.827083 long: -90.214293
Jefferson Mounument

lat: 38.57877 long: -92.17348
Katy Trail Trailhead

lat: 38.9776 long: -92.56147
Front Loop

lat: 38.82679 long: -90.21614
Trail of Tears to Cairo

The path taken by Chief John Ross on his way to Cairo. (https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=161480)

lat: 37.45684 long: -89.46319
Taylors Landing

A boat ramp to the beautiful Missouri River with a peaceful view of the river.

lat: 38.94831 long: -92.53559
Send Feedback

Instagram Feed