Page Feedback

Bequette-Ribault House

Bequette-Ribault House


Saturdays: 12:00pm - 5:00pm for groups with advance registration
No Pets Allowed
lat: 37.9732176 long: -90.0403431

The Bequette-Ribault House was built over-looking Le Grand Champ agricultural fields around 1808 using the poteaux-en-terre method of construction.  The vertical logs were placed directly in the ground without a foundation.

Originally built by the Jean Baptiste Bequette family, upon Bequette Jr.’s death the property was auctioned in March of 1840 on the church steps to the highest bidder. Antoine Recole, a free man of color, purchased it for $405. Two months later, Recole sold the property for the same amount to a free woman of color named Clarisse, a former slave of the Francois Janis household. Clarisse had two children who were given the last name Ribault. Jean Ribault, was a wealthy resident of Ste. Genevieve who had been a minor aristocrat in France. Interestingly, Clarisse was included in Jean Ribault’s will, who died in 1849. The only owners of the property from 1840 until 1969 were Clarisse and two generations of her descendants, all of who had the last name Ribault. This colonial home is now a historic museum site.

Like all other French Colonial houses in Ste. Genevieve, the Bequette Ribault House was built several feet above ground level to keep the floor level above potential flood water. It is an example of a smaller family dwelling. In one of the restored outbuildings, a Hospitality Center features a timeline of events detailing the home’s history.

Nearby Attractions

Distance Unit:

Nearby Trails

Distance Unit:

Trail of Tears Memorial

Explore the Trail of Tears State Park to delve into a somber chapter in American history. Here, nine Cherokee Indian groups crossed the harsh winter Mississippi River in 1838-1839 during their forced relocation to Oklahoma.…

lat: 37.4439902 long: -89.468381
Trail of Tears to Cairo

The path taken by Chief John Ross on his way to Cairo. (

lat: 37.45684 long: -89.46319
Tower Rock

lat: 37.63554 long: -89.51586
Front Loop

lat: 38.82679 long: -90.21614
Katy Trail Trailhead

lat: 38.9776 long: -92.56147
The Gateway Arch

lat: 38.6254157 long: -90.1881888
Chamoise to Klondike MO

lat: 38.70603 long: -91.73071
Lewis and Clark Nature Trail

lat: 38.77314 long: -90.4821
Klondike Park River Access

lat: 38.5840552 long: -90.8200764
Trail of Tears Overlook

A breathtaking viewpoint overlooking the Trail of Tears State Park. Car access is available

lat: 37.4490937 long: -89.4764524
Taylors Landing

A boat ramp to the beautiful Missouri River with a peaceful view of the river.

lat: 38.94831 long: -92.53559
Bean Lake Natural Area

lat: 39.49763 long: -95.02227
Send Feedback

Instagram Feed