Historic Fort Steuben is a reconstructed historical fort located in Steubenville, Ohio along the beautiful Ohio River. It is modeled after the original Fort built on the site in 1786-7 by the First American Regiment for the protection of surveyors who had been sent by the Continental Congress to map the Northwest Territory. During this time Native Americans were hostile.
The site was selected as most desirable for a military defense since it was bounded on the east by the Ohio River and lay on a slope of land that was uniform and drained toward the river with hills to the west which formed a natural amphitheater around the perimeter. It was on this site that Captain John Francis Hamtramck of the First American Regiment built a small blockhouse for the protection of his provisions while he and his men constructed the fort. By February 1787, Hamtramck and his men had completed construction of the fort and named it after Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben, a Prussian army officer who had ably assisted General Washington as his drillmaster in the Revolutionary War. The town that subsequently developed on the site still carries his name.
Two hundred years later, the non-profit Old Fort Steuben Project, Inc. was formed to reconstruct the fort on its original site and to offer historical and educational programs.
Today, Historic Fort Steuben is open to the public. The blockhouses for the enlisted men, the officers’ quarters, the quartermaster and the artificer’s shops, the guardhouse, the hospital and the commissary depict the daily life of the men who helped open up the new territories to settlement. A frontiersman’s camp and a display on surveying including an 1830 survey stone present a broader picture of the significance of the Fort.
Visitors should start their tour at the Visitor Center.