Page Feedback

Gallipolis Railroad Freight Station Museum

Gallipolis Railroad Freight Station Museum


Museum is not currently open. The Railroad yard is open.
Free Admission to Railroad Yard
lat: 38.816071 long: -82.1953142

The Gallipolis Hocking Valley Railroad Freight Station was built in 1901. The station remained a bustling freight depot for the area through the ownership of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway, as well as the Baltimore and Ohio and the Chessie System. The station was closed in late 1981, and in the years that followed, ownership passed to the O.O. McIntyre Park District and the City of Gallipolis. In 2015, a group of concerned residents organized by Dallas (Jim) Love became involved in efforts to save the deteriorating 26’ x 80′ station.

By 2016, the Gallipolis R.R. Freight Stations Museum, LLC was formed. Bylaws were written, officers and directors were elected, and a 501c3 status was granted by the IRS. During the late summer of 2016, the city deeded the station to the museum board.

The Gallipolis Railroad Freight Station Museum’s goal is to offer a historical collection of railroad memorabilia relating (but not limited) to the railroad history of southeastern Ohio.  Within the museum, there is a freight office as it appeared in the early 1900’s-working telegraph included! The display area also houses model train displays by local modelers.

Various rail cars are on display and open in the reconstructed freight yard. These cars will have areas equipped with the necessary audio visual equipment allowing area educators to bring their students to visit not only the station museum but to do age-related learning activities relating to railroad history.  The additional restored cars will allow for similar learning opportunities.


Nearby Attractions

Distance Unit:

Nearby Trails

Distance Unit:

Send Feedback

Instagram Feed