The Switzerland County Public Library was legally formed in 1915, after the state library law was passed. In November of 1917, the library received a letter from the Carnegie Corporation, informing them that the town of Vevay and Switzerland County would receive $12,500 for a new library building. A vacant lot on Ferry Street was purchased from and a contract to build the library was given for $10,975. The new library building was completed and opened to the public on January 27, 1919. This was the last Carnegie library built in Indiana, and one of the last in the United States.
In 1991, the library and the Town of Vevay exchanged deeds, and in 1992, the former Carnegie library became the Town Hall and police station, and the new library opened across the street, in the former Market Square Park.